Frequently Asked Questions
While every student must have an Arkansas permit or license in order to schedule the actual in-car lessons, a permit is NOT required for the classroom portion of our Comprehensive Driver Education. The student must complete all requirements for the =certificate of achievement within three months of the first day of class or within nine months, with the purchase of up to six-months of contract extensions, so it is important to make sure the student will be eligible to obtain a permit.
Upon successful completion of our Comprehensive Driver Education program, each student will be mailed a certificate of achievement which can be shown to your insurance agent for a driver education discount. It is up to the insurance company as to whether they grant discounts for driver education, but our program is accepted anywhere a public school driver ed certificate would be accepted, as we are licensed through the Arkansas Division of Higher Education. Some parents of teen boys have told us that the discount paid for our program within the first year; others, within 2-3 years. Keep in mind that if a discount is given, it is usually valid until age 25, but ask your agent for those details.
Even if your company does not give a driver education discount, the money and grief you would save if we can prevent your teen from having even one crash would be much greater than the cost of our course. (We cannot guarantee that your child will not be involved in a wreck after completing our course, but the knowledge and motivation we provide your teen can greatly reduce the risk of that happening.)
Adults ages 25-55 are typically already in the lowest insurance rate bracket, thus usually do not benefit further from having a certificate, however, some insurance companies are giving discounts for adults of any age who complete a Defensive Driving course. Ask your agent to be sure and then check out our 4-hour classes for adults.
All of the Driving Academy's programs will strive to develop within each participant knowledge of the provisions of the Arkansas Vehicle Code and other laws of this state relating to the operation of motor vehicles; acceptance of personal responsibility in traffic; appreciation of the causes, seriousness, and consequences of traffic collisions; and the knowledge, attitudes, habits, and skills necessary for the safe operation of motor vehicles.
Driving Academy of Northwest Arkansas teaches the classroom instruction portion of our Comprehensive Driver Education program either virtually at your home, or in-person at our own training center in Bentonville at 1401 SE Walton Blvd, Suite #213, See our Calendar for the dates.
Driving Academy uses our company cars, which are equipped with dual brakes and extra mirrors for the instructor. If you want to have lessons in driving a standard transmission, we are able to make exceptions and use your car, provided certain criteria are met.
We know that you / your student will soon be driving in all weathers, and need to know what to do in inclement weather as well as on sunny days. Because of this, we do still give lessons in most inclement weather.
The exception to this is if traction and/or visibility are so poor that we would not be able to teach the normal objectives. In that case, we will be the ones to contact the student. We will do this by calling the student, using their number as listed in the file.
If a student does decide to cancel due to bad weather when we have not determined that these conditions have been met, the cancellation will be handled as with any other cancellation. If it is within 24 hours of the lesson, there will be a standard $25 late cancellation fee.
The driving student will need the following for every behind-the-wheel lesson:
1. Current Arkansas permit or license
2. Corrective lenses, if permit or license has such restriction
3. (For 2nd or consecutive lessons) Evaluation form which was provided by instructor at the first lesson
4. (Recommended) Sunglasses
5. *According to AAA Covid-19 guidelines, students are required to wear a mask to the lesson until further notice. If they do not have one, it will be provided by the instructor, and a fee of $3 added to their account*
1. More lessons available for adults while teenagers are involved with school activities
2. Roads are typically clear and dry MOST DAYS during the entire fall/winter (If the roads do become slick, you can reschedule the lessons affected) 3. Our cars are well-heated!
4. Shorter lines at the testing center and Department of Motor Vehicles Offices
5. With a license and car… you won't have to walk in the cold! you would have freedom to go where and when you want without paying a taxi or asking a friend!
While helping students pass the test is not the MAIN purpose of our program, four hours of the class are devoted to "Ignorance is NO Excuse", which is very helpful for someone who needs help studying. The class will cover much more information to help all involved become more intelligent drivers.
The course includes 36 hours of classroom instruction (typically 2 or 4 hours per day spread over 9-18 days, respectively), and four, six, or eight 1.5-hour driving lessons scheduled separately from class times, a couple of hours of homework, four hours additional practice driving with a parent, guardian, or one of our instructors, and a 2-hour parent seminar. Each student should complete all requirements within three months, but can pay contract extension fees to allow up to six additional months, if needed. Because motor vehicle collisions are the number one cause of deaths for ages 4 to 34, we know driver training should be a process, not just an event.
If your ONLY desire is to get a piece of paper "saying" that your teenager has completed some driver training in order to get a discount on your insurance, then our program is not for you. We do NOT provide our program just as a "courtesy" to the community. This is not just our summer job. We do not think it is possible to teach everything a young driver needs to know in 36 hours, much less in 2.5 to 6 hours of classroom instruction.
Instead, saving lives and helping prevent heartaches and hardships by striving to produce INTELLIGENT young drivers is our year-round passion and goal. We are constantly updating our own training and improving our program to teach the most important information using the most effective methods. We have invested greatly in textbooks, videos, brochures, props, and training to provide the best Northwest Arkansas has to offer in driver education. Parents and grandparents who have attended our classes say they have learned some things, even though they have driven for years.
The most important thing to bring is a rested mind and body. We have so much information to teach your student, that they must be rested to absorb as much as possible. A $25 cash or check for the refundable deposit for the textbook should be brought to the "Block-A" portion of the program. For the in-classroom option, they can bring snacks and drinks into the classroom if they would like, and change to utilize the vending machines, Details about this will be sent via email a few days before class begins. Everything else they need in class will be provided.
You can download a pdf version or an audio version of the Arkansas Driver License Test Study Guide from the Arkansas State Police website or from our "Resources" tab.
This guide will provide further details of requirements for getting a permit and license.
Note: Upon completion of construction of the new Troop L facility, the testing site has now moved to W Monroe Ave., Lowell (immediately west of Atwoods).
There are testing sites in Lowell, Eureka Springs, Huntsville, and Prairie Grove. Details about Lowell's Testing Center are given below. There is a PDF link on our Resources page called "Testing Center Information" with more details on the four locations.
You can also go to www.asp.arkansas.gov, under "Highway Patrol Division," and click on "Driver's Licensing and Examination" for more information.
Arkansas State Police Drivers Testing Center: 1120 W Monroe Ave Lowell, AR 72745
They normally accept testers for the knowledge test 1 P.M. to 4:30 P.M. and the practical test (actual driving test) 8 - 11:30 A.M. most Mondays-Fridays. When a public school is out, the line can be long, so plan to arrive extra early in the morning for the road test. They only give the practical test when the roads are dry and visibility is good.
Their phone number is 479-751-3619.
Directions to Lowell/Arkansas State Police Testing Center from Rogers: drive South on I-540, take the Monroe Ave Exit (#78), turn right from exit ramp onto W Monroe Ave. The testing center will be on your right.
Directions to Lowell/Arkansas State Police Testing Center from Fayetteville: drive North on I-540, take the Monroe Ave Exit (#78), turn left from exit ramp onto Monroe Ave, back over the interstate. The testing center will be on your right.
The DL Testing Centers may have copies to distribute or you can download and print your own copy from the Arkansas State Police website. Arkansas Driver License Study Guide