Rules of the Road
Teen Rules and Regulations
Licenses - 14 to 18 Years Old
If under 18, you will need to take a birth certificate, proof of enrollment in school, proof of grade point average of at least 2.0 and a parent or legal guardian to the testing site. If you are under 18 but have graduated from high school, you will need to show proof of your graduation (diploma) at the testing site. (For additional requirements and locations of testing sites, contact the Arkansas State Police at 501-618-8251.)
All persons 14 to 18 years of age must hold an A restriction (adult in car) for a minimum of 6 months before driving unrestricted. The six month time period begins on the date the person passes the written exam (the date the learner's permit is issued by the state police examiner).
Any person applying for a driver's license is required to show proof of legal presence and submit ONE Primary Document and ONE Secondary Document or TWO Primary Documents from the list. A primary document must contain the full name and date of birth and must be verifiable, i.e., you must be able to contact the issuing agency to determine authenticity of the document.
Any person between the ages of 14 and 18 who has not been issued an Arkansas Driver's License will be issued a drivers license under the Arkansas Graduated Licensing Law (Act 1694 of 2001). The law mandates a progressive driver's licensing program for young drivers. Drivers are required to adhere to the restrictions at each level before they can move on to the next level. For more information call 501-682-7059.
The three levels of licensing are learners (must be at least 14 years of age), intermediate (must be at least 16 years of age) and regular licenses (must be at least 18 years of age).
The learner's license is the beginning drivers' license issued to a person at least 14 years of age and will expire on the licensee's 16th birth date. Applicants may qualify for a learner's license by passing the written and road tests given by the Arkansas State Police, passing the vision exam and having no serious accidents or traffic convictions in the most recent six months.
Restrictions on a learner's license are:
All passengers must have seats belts attached at all times.
Shall not use a cellular telephone or other interactive wireless communication device while driving except for an emergency purpose. The driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older.
Upon the expiration of a learner's license (the person's 16th birthday), the person may apply for an intermediate driver's license.
The intermediate license is issued to persons ages 16 to 18, and expires on the person's 18th birthday. Applicants who have a learner's license may move up to the intermediate license only if they have no serious accidents or serious traffic convictions within the most recent six months.
Passengers in a vehicle driven by a person with an intermediate license must have seat belts attached at all times. If the applicant for an intermediate license has an accident or serious traffic conviction within the most recent six months, he/she must retain the learner's license until such time that their record is clear of such accidents or traffic convictions for a six-month period. In this case, the re-issued learner's license will have an expiration date equal to the end of six months from the conviction or accident date. If, on that expiration date, no further accidents or serious violations have occurred, an intermediate license will be issued.
Any person under the age 18 must hold a restriction of an adult in the car for a minimum of six months. Therefore, if a person obtains his/her first license at age 17, (intermediate license) the license must have the adult restriction for a six-month period or until age 18. If the licensee has satisfied the six-month adult restriction, the intermediate license allows the licensee to drive alone. A driver with an intermediate driver's license shall not use a cellular telephone or other interactive wireless communication device while driving except for an emergency purpose.
Applicants for an intermediate driver's license issued on or after July 31, 2009 are required to sign an acknowledgement they understand these restrictions:
Prohibited from operating a motor vehicle with more than one unrelated minor passenger unless accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older.
Prohibited from operating a motor vehicle between the hours of 11:00 pm and 4:00 am unless the licensee is: accompanied by a person 21 years of age or older; driving to or from a school activity, church-related activity, or job; or driving because of an emergency.
A regular license is issued to a person at age 18 when the intermediate license expires. Applicants for a regular license must have a record without any serious accidents or serious traffic convictions within the most recent 12 months. If the applicant has such accident or conviction within the, most recent 12 months, he/she must retain the Intermediate license until such time that the record is free of these accidents/convictions for a period of 12 months.
The age restrictions in this program do not apply to a person 16 years of age or older if such person is (A) married, (B) possesses a high school diploma, (C) has successfully completed a General Education Development test, or (D) is enlisted in the United States Military.