Driving Academy of Northwest Arkansas FAQs

General

Is an Arkansas Driver's permit required to enroll in your program?

Will your course get us a discount on our auto insurance premiums?

What do you hope to accomplish with me or my teen?

Where are the courses taught?

Behind the Wheel

Whose car will be used for the Behind-the-Wheel portion of the program?

What should I have with me for the actual driving lessons?

Why is Fall/Winter a great time for adults to take driving lessons?

Comprehensive Program

Will the classroom portion help my student pass the knowledge test?

How long does the comprehensive driver ed course take to complete?

Why should I pay more for Driving Academy when I can get a certificate for an insurance discount cheaper somewhere else?

What does the student need to bring to the classroom?

Licensure Process

How do I get a permit?

Where do I go to get an Arkansas driving permit and/or take the road test?

Where can I get an Arkansas Driver License Test Study Guide?

 

 

 

 

Is an Arkansas Driver's permit required to enroll in your program?

While every student must have an Arkansas permit or license in order to schedule the actual in-car lessons, a permit is NOT required for the classroom portion of our Comprehensive Driver Education.  The student must complete all requirements for the certificate of achievement within three months of the first day of class or within nine months, with the purchase of up to six-months of contract extensions, so it is important to make sure the student will be eligible to obtain a permit.

 

Will your course get us a discount on our auto insurance premiums?

Upon successful completion of our comprehensive driver education program or our correspondence program, each student will be mailed an achievement certificate which can be shown to your insurance agent for a driver education discount.  It is up to the insurance company as to whether they grant discounts for driver education, but our program is accepted anywhere a public school driver ed certificate would be accepted, as we are licensed through the State Board of Private Career Education.  Some parents of teen boys have told us that the discount paid for our program within the first year; others, within 2-3 years.  Keep in mind that if a discount is given, it is usually valid until age 25, but ask your agent for those details. 

Even if your company does not give a driver education discount, the money and grief you would save if we can prevent your teen from having even one crash would be much greater than the cost of our course.  (We cannot guarantee that your child will not be involved in a wreck after completing our course, but the knowledge and motivation we provide your teen can greatly reduce the risk of that happening.)

Adults ages 25-55 are typically already in the lowest insurance rate bracket, thus usually do not benefit further from having a certificate, however, some insurance companies are giving discounts for adults of any age who complete a Defensive Driving course.  Ask your agent to be sure and then check out our 6-hour classes for adults.

 

What do you hope to accomplish with me or my teen?

All of the Driving Academy's programs will strive to develop within each participant knowledge of the provisions of the Arkansas Vehicle Code and other laws of this state relating to the operation of motor vehicles; acceptance of personal responsibility in traffic; appreciation of the causes, seriousness, and consequences of traffic collisions; and the knowledge, attitudes, habits, and skills necessary for the safe operation of motor vehicles.

 

Where are the courses taught?

Driving Academy of Northwest Arkansas teaches the classroom instruction portion of our Comprehensive Driver Education program at our own training center in Bentonville at 1401 SE Walton Blvd, Suite #213. See our Calendar for the dates. 

 

Whose car will be used for the Behind-the-Wheel portion of the program?

Driving Academy uses our company cars, Honda Accords, which are equipped with dual brakes and extra mirrors for the instructor. If you want to have lessons in driving a standard transmission, we are able to make exceptions and use your car, provided certain criteria are met.

 

What should I have with me for the actual driving lessons?

The driving student will need the following for every behind-the-wheel lesson:

1.  Current Arkansas permit or license

2.  Corrective lenses, if permit or license has such restriction

3.  (For 2nd or consecuative lessons) Evaluation form which was provided by instructor at the first lesson

4.  (Recommended) Sunglasses

 

Why is Fall/Winter a great time for adults to take driving lessons?

* more lessons available for adults while teenagers are involved with school activities * roads are typically clear and dry MOST DAYS during the entire fall/winter * If the roads do become slick, you can reschedule the lessons affected. * Our cars are well-heated! * shorter lines at the testing center and Department of Motor Vehicles Offices * With a license and car… * you won't have to walk in the cold! * you would have freedom to go where and when you want without paying a taxi or asking a friend!

 

Will the classroom portion help my student pass the knowledge test?

While helping students pass the test is not the MAIN purpose of our program, four hours of the class are devoted to "Ignorance is NO Excuse", which is very helpful for someone who needs help studying. The class will cover much more information to help all involved become more intelligent drivers.

 

How long does the comprehensive driver ed course take to complete?

The course includes 30 hours of classroom instruction (typically six hours per day for five days), four 1.5-hour driving lessons scheduled seperately class times, a couple of hours of homework, four hours additional practice driving with a parent, guardian, or one of our instructors, and a 2-hour parent seminar. Each student should complete all requirements within three months, but can pay contract extension fees to allow up to six additional months, if needed. Because motor vehicle collisions are the number one cause of deaths for ages 4 to 34, we know driver training should be a process, not just an event.

 

Why should I pay more for Driving Academy when I can get a certificate for an insurance discount cheaper somewhere else?

If your ONLY desire is to get a piece of paper "saying" that your teenager has completed some driver training in order to get a discount on your insurance, then our program is not for you. We do NOT provide our program just as a "courtesy" to the community. This is not just our summer job. We do not think it is possible to teach everything a young driver needs to know in 30 hours, much less in 2.5 to 6 hours of classroom instruction.

Instead, saving lives and helping prevent heartaches and hardships by striving to produce INTELLIGENT young drivers is our year-round passion and goal. We are constantly updating our own training and improving our program to teach the most important information using the most effective methods. We have invested greatly in textbooks, videos, brochures, props, and training to provide the best Northwest Arkansas has to offer in driver education. Parents and grandparents who have attended our classes say they learned some things even though they have driven for years.

 

What does the student need to bring to the classroom?

The most important thing to bring is a rested mind and body.  We have so much information to teach your student, that they must be rested to absorb as much as possible. Also, they will need money for snacks and lunch, unless they choose to bring their own, and $20 cash or check for the refundable deposit for the text book.  Details about this will be sent via email a few days before class begins.  Everything else they need in class will be provided.

 

How do I get a permit?

You can download a pdf version or an audio version of the Arkansas Driver License Test Study Guide from the Arkansas State Police website or from our "Resources" tab.

This guide will provide further details of requirements for getting a permit and license. Teenagers, 14-17-years, must obtain a letter from their school verifying current enrollmentand that the student has a minimum 2.0 average. Homeschoolers have alternate methods of certification which are explained in the guide.

 

Where do I go to get an Arkansas driving permit and/or take the road test?

There are testing sites in Springdale, Eureka Springs, Huntsville, and Siloam Springs. Details about Springdale's Testing Center are given below. For the other locations, go to www.asp.arkansas.gov, under "Highway Patrol Division," click on "Driver's Licensing and Examination," then download the DL/CDL Test Sites PDF. Look for location and test times with Troop L.

Springdale DL Testing Center: 5084 Har-Ber Avenue

They normally accept testers for the knowledge test and the practical test (actual driving test) most Mondays-Fridays, 8 A.M. to 11:30 A.M. and 1 P.M. to 4 P.M. They are least busy first thing in the mornings. They only give the practical test when the roads are dry and visibility is good.

Their phone number is 479-751-3619.

Directions to Springdale DL Testing Center from Rogers: drive South on I-540, take the Elm Springs Exit (#73), turn right from exit ramp onto Elm Springs Road, then left onto 48th Street, and then right onto Har-Ber Avenue. The Driver License Testing Center Building will be on the right.

Directions to Springdale DL Testing Center from Fayetteville: drive North on I-540, take the Hwy 412 Exit (#72), turn left from exit ramp onto Hwy 412, turn right onto 48th Street, and then left onto Har-Ber Avenue. The Driver License Testing Center Building will be on the right.

 

Where can I get an Arkansas Driver License Test Study Guide?

The DL Testing Centers may have copies to distribute or you can download and print your own copy from the Arkansas State Police website.  Arkansas Driver License Study Guide

 

Teen BTW Driving Sessionsi Drivers Education Services